What's new
What's new

Machine tool dealers.

jburstein

Hot Rolled
Hi all,
I am a student at a University in Pittsburgh PA. I'm involved a club that builds some things. We have teamed up with a couple other organization to buy machine tools, and I have been put in charge of acquiring said tools. We are interested in a small lathe, and a bridgeport or clone.

The catch is that we have a budget of about $4-5k. Right now I'm interested in the lathemaster's 9x20 machine. I have been unable to get a response from lathemaster with a couple of emails; does anyone know what is up with them? Are they out of business? Also does anyone have a source for a similar machine? We're really looking for something that 's somewhere between minilathe and full size.

For the mill one site I've looked at is machinery values. does anyone have words to say about them, or recommendations of another dealer, especially someone closer to Pittsburgh?

Thanks in advance

With a budget of 4-5k, for a mill and lathe, you should be able to get some pretty nice used machines, if you look hard enough.
As to Machinery Values, I have seen alot of their items on ebay, and it seems expensive in relation to today's market.
A good dealer to check out is the following: McKean Machinery We have bought several machines off of them.
You may also want to check out www.locatoronline.com for some other dealers near you.

J