What's new
What's new

Machinist V.S. Toolmaker

tfarnz

Plastic
I've read alot on this forum about what a machinist is or isn't. Just wondering what your thoughts are on what seperates a machinist from a toolmaker

When I was an apprentice, I was told that a machinist can use a machine tool to perform a job (use a lathe to turn down a shaft, use a mill to face, etc.) while a toolmaker can use a machine shop to make a finished product. IOW, a machinist may be specialized in only one area whereas a toolmaker knows his way around a whole shop. And, he/she usually has much more strict specs. It took good experience for a machinist to reach the title of toolmaker.

A machinist is a person that can make any part or repair any part to restore a piece of equipment to working condition. He is generally proficient on all shop machines and must have a good imagination and perception of how things work and how to setup work.

A toolmaker or tool and die machinist deals with close tolerance work on dies, molds and other tooling that require extreme accuracy. He does not deal with looser tolerances of repair of machines, etc. as a general rule. Toolmakers are competent on all shop machines as well.

The big difference between machinist and toolmaker to me is, I consider a machinist to be a job shop worker and can handle any job without getting hung up in close tolerances and make it work. A toolmaker's major concern is tolerance and serviceability of the tool or die he is making and the performance of the tool or die or mold is critical.

There is an old saying: You can make a machinist into a toolmaker but you can't make a toolmaker into a machinist.

I find this somewhat true because when I had to do a close tolerance job with close fit and finish I would find myself spending to much time on the next job that did not require close tolerance or finish. So once a person gets used to working in close tolerances it is hard to let go and just make it work.