Machinist V.S. Toolmaker - Page 3
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I think it comes down to arrogance, what someone doesn't understand they look down upon. A crash on a manual is no big deal. A crash at 800IPM rapid with a cutter a 5000RPM into a hardened vise is a big deal. It takes a lot of skill to know what button to push, when to push it, and know what it will do.

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I've been a toolmaker and a machinist for 22 yrs and the toolmaking is boring in my opinion ( too much time spent in front of a grinder) I need to make big happy blue chips that everyone has to dodge when they walk by my machine!

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

well gee ive learned a lot by reading this thread.
    i didnt know i was supposed to tell the machinist' where i work to make my parts.
    i thought every body ground their drills,lathe tools,endmills,die parts,ETC. the only thing i havent sharpened in my career were diamond turning tools, however i have dressed diamond milling tools does that count?
    now i know what you guys are saying because i have encountered all types of skill levels in my journey thru life, lots of machinist' and toolmakers who couldnt sharpen a drill or end mill.
    the same concerning chasing threads, but lots of times a craftsman just has to drill and tap a hole and assemble with screws, thats no indication of a lesser skilled person the just never had the chance to learn.
    heck there things that i would like to improve on, my optical tooling dock work could really use improving. i can level a transit and shoot in fixtures but im not fast like some guys i know.