What's new
What's new

newbie seeks advice on what I can expect from a live centre

choppernigel

Plastic
I have a virtually brand new "Royal" precision high speed centre (RLC-10212B) which is spec'd as :- accuracy +/- 0.0025mm,angular contact bearing plus needle bearing and thrust bearing, 3000rpm etc.. When i put it up and clock it there is virtualy no reading however light finger pressure will show a deflection of 0.15mm. When I put up a piece of stock and put some pressure on with the tailstock handwheel then the deflection is much reduced -- with a fair bit of pressure from the tailstock ram it now requires a firm pressure with the hand to give a reading of about 0.03mm to 0.04mm. When I have an ordinary dead centre, firm hand pressure shows no deflection.

This doesnt seem good enough for a £180 centre but then I have no experience. I would like to know what the experienced among you think i should expect.

Tahnks in advance Nigel

Well I'm no expert but if you want precision I think most people use a dead center. At least that was the what was done in the old days.