What's new
What's new

Opinions on Darex endmill sharpener

Hoppy

Cast Iron
Does anyone out there own one of the Darex endmill sharpeners? What are your opinions on it? I've got a chance to buy one at a decent price but don't want to take the plunge until I know a little more about the thing.

I am a hobbyist machinist. I bought a used Darex E-85 (like the E-90) fairly cheaply a couple years ago after I came into possession of a big pile of dulled or grossly abused end mills that came with a small vertical mill I bought. I hated to throw them away and was interested in learning about sharpening end mills anyway--a challenge.

The Darex is certainly better than nothing but no professional would mistake it for a serious precision machine. A certain amount of user dexterity, feel, and practice is required. If you are using CNC machines, forget it.

Realize you need an air compressor to run it. Mine is a 5 HP and it is just enough. My air spindle is a bit abused, thus requiring more air.

I feel there is one design problem. The air spindle uses a collar clamped to it which locates the flutes during end sharpening. Problem is, the collar is clamped with just a set screw. The set screw will distort the shaft enough to cause binding of the air spindle when it is used to sharpen the flutes on the side of the mill. That results in some uneven grinds in places on some flutes.

Have also noted some run-out problems with some end mills I have sharpened. Seem to get a high flute sometimes. Do not know why at the moment.