Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Washington
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Metl,
    Thanks for the detailed reply. None of our reefers have heaters in the compressors, and they may sit unplugged for months waiting for a load at ambient temps anywhere from -10 to +90f. Our older units which we are trying to phase out were R12 and we didn't have much problems with picking up oil until we swithed over to 409a. I have no experience with HVAC or R22 but I can see if these compressors are adapted from that use it may explain some of these problems.

As we are phasing out our older carrier 69NU units in favor of Carrier Thinlines we are saving what good compressors we have for stock, not buying replacements. I've handled some of the new generation hermetics and they are noisier but have reduced condenser fan noise and run a lot less with the newer better insulated boxes so overall I think they're quieter.

Way back when we had some ThermoKing red nose and blue nose units with Copeland compressors, they were a huge PITA but not because of the compressor. 90's vintage TKs I've come across had non hermetics, lots of seal leaks at the motor coupling. They seem to smoke motors at the same rate as the Carriers but a lot easier to change, particularly at the top of a 30' ladder.

None of which has to do with compressing air, sorry folks...

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

metl: Thanks for the info ...that's really helpful.

Another question to everyone: I picked up a couple of hermetically-sealed refrigeration units from a scrap pile behind an A/C shop. They look like small beer kegs with tubes sticking out, and they are pretty heavy ... about 200 lbs or more.

If I cut these open, would there be a compressor inside worth using? If not, I'll take them down to the recycling yard. Thanks!!

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Washington
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)