What's new
What's new

Questions about router bits and end mills

old_iron

Aluminum
Hello All,

I recently picked up a lot of tooling for my mill and as I was looking through it I found some of what looked to be end mills that were made by Unsrud. I used to work in the woodworking field and remembered them as tooling maker and shaper and router manufactuerers. I assume these are router bits instead of end mills but can't visually see any difference between a real end mill and these. They are ground exactly the same.

Is there any difference?

Thanks,
Troy

Old_Iron = Ferrous Antiquos

Are we related??

Onsrud did/does make woodworking routers, and those are probably spiral upcut bits to get the chips out in a hurry. My guess is they are not exactly the same as for metal-cutting end mills, (deeper gullet, more acute cutting edge angle) but I think they would work pretty well in aluminum in a regular mill.

I was at an auction where an Onsrub overarm router in perfect working order went for $100 bucks, just because is was a big dog and too heavy for the home-shoppers to deal with !

Lacking the correct ball end mill, on several occasions I've used single flute HSS router bits of the right radius on aluminum - worked OK.

edited to add: but they didn't work as well as a ball end mill.

Ferrous,

Not sure if we are related or not but it looks like we have the same disease. Cast Iron in our blood!!

I looked at these bits from every angle and they are made exactly like a regular HSS end mill. I guess I can try them out and see what happens. Should work OK in alum.

Thanks for the replies guys!