What's new
What's new

sawing job

drumuns

Plastic
Hi All
I have been a long time reader of this forum (18 months) and not really posted anything. This is sort of OT, but i figured this would be the best place to ask such questions.
I am a college student and just got a job for the summer. I work at a company that manufactures pallet racking. I have a few questions about some safety concerns I have. I run one of two bandsaws, one a vert. Marvel and the other, a large horizontal Wagner. I have noticed that the air quality is horrible and wonder what the long-term health effects may be of working in the presence of the metal chip and coolant mist filled air?
I have also welded there, and it seems that the processes are much too hurried. The frames we build are welded w/ ususally deltaweld 302 or cv305 3 phase welders running at like 27 volts and wide open on the wirespeed. The welds look decent when finished, but does not seem like a proper weld for a somewhat critical joint. Is this "pull the trigger and run" type of welding an accepted process?
And one last question. What do you think a job like this should pay. It is in a semi-rural area and i work usually 5am to 4pm. It involves quite a bit of manual labor along with welding and fixing the machines if they break down.

Thanks

Breathing anything except air and small quantities of water is bad.

When I am working in the presence of "particulates" I wear a respirator and close fitting nitrile gloves.

I've been looking into the feasibility of wearing scuba gear. :D

By the way don't wear work gloves when operating saws or any other machinery with exposed moving parts for that matter. It's the #1 cause of accidents.

i know better than to wear gloves, but this is just another instance in which no one there has a clue it seems

You don't smoke doo you?

Lucky Strikes possibly?

Anybody else around you smoke?

How aboot wearing WAY too bloody much perfume?

Think Snow Eh!
Ox