What's new
What's new

turning 4140-w-small lathe

challenger

Stainless
I have a small 9"X23" chinese lathe and am trying to turn/face some 3" round 4140. I am very new to this and have gotten tow here I can turn about .010 at a time-w-carbide but cannot seem to be able to turn-w-HSS tools. I try and shape/sharpen my own tool bits and shape the HSS tools-w-similar profiles as the carbide. My lathe will only go down to 125 rpm. Is this still too slow? According to a formula I got it should be about 77 RPM but man this really seems slow.

HSS tools need more clearance and top rake angle than carbide to get them to cut, you really need to get a book that shows you how to grind them.A good one every machinist should have is the Machinist Ready Reference, it's about $25 and tells you exactly how to grind the bits.

You didn't state what condition your 4140 is. Annealed or heat treated makes a big difference. If you are getting OK results with carbide, stay with it. If you want to use HSS, you must learn the proper way to grind and sharpen it.
Some people don't understand why their tool worked fine cutting soft stuff but is terrible with steel.
Find someone to mentor and show you how to do it. Some things are tough to learn on your own.
Good luck.
Les

Mike - thanks a ton. Have you by chance got a picture of a cutter that you have shaped for facing?
The 4140 I have is annealed so I understand it should not be too tough on the HSS.

Challenger, I don't have a digital camera so can't post any pictures.

Take a look at the following site. I think this information will get you a good start on grinding a tool bit that will work great for you.

http://www.sherline.com/grinding.htm

You might get a little frustrated at first, but before you know it, you'll be able grind tool bits very easily. So KEEP at it!

By the way, I recommend that you don't buy any pre-ground bits - their too expensive and you will never learn the fundamentals of cutting tools.

Mike