What's new
What's new

valve seat grinder

axlsavage

Plastic
Im interested in putting large valves in chevy 350 heads. Mainly 1.94 to 2.02. The stk seats can take the enlargement. Im interested in the equipment to enlarge the seats. I want something easy to use for small volume only, couple sets of heads a month. Cheap in other words :D Can anyone suggest a manufacture or part number or model number or ? Yes Im new to this thats why I want to start very small.

Thanks

Hi Axlsavage,

You could check with a few of the auto machine shops in your area, they might have older units or know who might want to sell one.

I know Snap-on has them, but they are made by another company. Mac-tools, or Cornwell dealers might know as well.

A couple thoughts.

if you are doing low volume, and dont want a major machine investment, I would look at the Neway cutter system. they make a hand powered or a machine powered version. basically, angled cutter heads at the seat angles, with replaceable cutter blades. They can remove material a lot quicker than just grinding with a seat grinder. Start with the angle under the seat and throat it out and then bring the seat and top angle in to it. Then finish up with a regular stone grinder set up. Some people dont finish with a stone afterwards, low finish quality is the result.
Other than that you are looking at some kind of head machine with the serdi / newen style three angle seat cutter system, lots of $$$ unless you luck into something.
look here: goodson and do a search for Neway, It will show you what to look for. With some searchihg you should find a used set up fairly reasonable, as engine shops are dropping like flies these days.
Jim