What's new
What's new

What tools to have?

Rob D

Aluminum
What tools should I expect the guys to have?

We "the shop" are moving to Indiana and have the chance to start "fresh". Currently we have supplied all tools needed to do the job. Everything!!!

I have found that working like this makes a serious wreck of a shop. Mic's laying around, 1/2 dozen broken indicators that "worked last time I used it", edge finder's with no tip ect.

What should I expect of these guys as far as tools? Expertise range from die maker to production worker.

0-1 mic. 6inch caliper. 1 ruler. 1 dial indicator with mag base. 1 edge finder.

Its just the basic tools that get used the most.

All the shops I've worked at expected you to have your own measuring and hand tools. The only tools a company permanently supplied to me were a set of end wrenches and allen wrenches when I worked as a maintenence machinist. We were given all cutting tools as required. There was also a tool crib and we had 12 tool checks with our time clock number on them. You gave the tool crib attendent a tool check if you needed to borrow a tool. You had to account for all your tool checks when you left the company. Anything missing was deducted from your last paycheck. We were also able to purchase tools thru the company on a payroll deduction plan. They would either take out the whole amount in one week or a little over several weeks. We were also able to get the company discount. I bought many precision tools and later drafting equipment when I moved into the office. Even today, I purchase tools and materials thru my current employer. I just give the cash to the accounting department. I just think that people take care better care of something if they actually payed for it.

0-1 mic. 6inch caliper. 1 ruler. 1 dial indicator with mag base. 1 edge finder.
Those items SND listed plus all wrenches needed
(allen, combination, open end, etc) needed
to set-up machine they are paid to run as