What's new
What's new

Will a Barber Colman #3 cut worm gears?

Cory

Cast Iron
I am interested in cutting bronze worm gears for my antique Porter Cable sanders. I have researched some and heard that the Barber Colman #3 gear hobbing machine will do this.The gears I want to cut are 2" in dia and 5/8 thick with 21 teeth.I think the worm has a 4 start thread but not real sure. I need help in choosing a machine and the best place to have hobbs made. Also how do you figure out the dim. of the gears?I am new to this and not a machinit by trade but very interested in making these gears.Please help me out. Thanks agian,Cory

There is a book called "gear cutting practice" by colvin and stanley (??). HAs a lot of good info.

Ash gear can help with the cutters. Better have deep pockets.

I believe the B-C will do it. I have the vertical feed attachment for mine to do it but never installed.

Not sure about the 4 start part.

Thanks for the reply.So you have B-C #3? If I buy a B-C#3 and it does not have the vertical feed are you willing to sell yours?How old is you machine and where did you get it, how much was it?Are these the best small gear machine to get?

A BC #3 or the later 6-10 models (later cousin) look to be about $5000 from dealers, more or less.

Then prepare to buy the change-gears, as those above usually come with none. $25-50 each.

Then prepare to buy hobs...probably $300-500 each.

Then buy hob-arbors to match the hobs, those might be $500-1000 or you can make your own.

Then you have to be able to turn the gear blanks to .001" of nominal on OD and ID, and they must be concentric.

You must create workholding for the blanks, another lathe job that has to be accurately done, either turn the B&S #9 taper or use collets and a straight shaft.

I'm not trying to pour cold water on a noob's dreams here, but these are in fact the steps you must consider and be prepared to spend $$ on before you can make Prototype Gear #1.