What's new
What's new

1/4 pitch gears?

Sandro29

Plastic
Hi all, new member here. I'm a maintenance tech in a manufacturing facility, and one of my responsibilities is correctly sizing gearing for production machine format changes. So the vast majority of our machines use either 8 or 10 pitch gears, which makes figuring out the sizing easy. However a few machines contain what are supposedly "1/4" (quarter) pitch gears, which are very close to 12 pitch but not quite. The trouble I'm having here is this: no matter how much digging I do I cannot seem to find any info online about these "1/4 pitch" gears, and the (fairly expensive) gear pitch gauge set I bought doesn't include a leaf for these "1/4 pitch" gears. So what exactly is a 1/4 pitch gear, and why is it named as a fraction instead of the normal pitches (6, 8, 10, 11, etc)?

Yes, circular pitch gears do exist. Its an old standard carried over from worm and worm wheel practice. Finding circular pitch gears on line will probably be difficult, but any gear shop should be able to cut them for you.

Yes, circular pitch gears do exist. Its an old standard carried over from worm and worm wheel practice. Finding circular pitch gears on line will probably be difficult, but any gear shop should be able to cut them for you.
Ok, so then it's just an older system of gear sizing...makes sense because the machinery it's being used for is around 50 yrs old. Thanks. Any idea where I can find a tooth gauge for these circular pitch gears?

There is a set of circular pitch gear gages on Fleabay with a buy it now. Circular pitch is a component mathematically of diametral pitch gears. Cast gears are based on circular pitch. .25 CP is between 12 and 13 DP.
I would buy a a used copy of Machinery’s Handbook and do the math to figure out what I had. The math is not complicated.
Best of luck!

"Pi" divided by Diametral Pitch is circular pitch

Say you had 8 DP

"Pi" / 8 = .3927 CP

Conversely, "pi" divided by CP is DP