Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    New Jersey
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default 1/4 pitch gears?

Hi all, new member here. I'm a maintenance tech in a manufacturing facility, and one of my responsibilities is correctly sizing gearing for production machine format changes. So the vast majority of our machines use either 8 or 10 pitch gears, which makes figuring out the sizing easy. However a few machines contain what are supposedly "1/4" (quarter) pitch gears, which are very close to 12 pitch but not quite. The trouble I'm having here is this: no matter how much digging I do I cannot seem to find any info online about these "1/4 pitch" gears, and the (fairly expensive) gear pitch gauge set I bought doesn't include a leaf for these "1/4 pitch" gears. So what exactly is a 1/4 pitch gear, and why is it named as a fraction instead of the normal pitches (6, 8, 10, 11, etc)?

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Yes, circular pitch gears do exist. Its an old standard carried over from worm and worm wheel practice. Finding circular pitch gears on line will probably be difficult, but any gear shop should be able to cut them for you.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    New Jersey
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by Dan from Oakland View Post
    Yes, circular pitch gears do exist. Its an old standard carried over from worm and worm wheel practice. Finding circular pitch gears on line will probably be difficult, but any gear shop should be able to cut them for you.
    Ok, so then it's just an older system of gear sizing...makes sense because the machinery it's being used for is around 50 yrs old. Thanks. Any idea where I can find a tooth gauge for these circular pitch gears?

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)