What's new
What's new

12 x 18 Craftsman/atlas lathe

Status
Not open for further replies.

needsbeermoney

Plastic
Hello everyone. My names Richard and if this doesn't go here them please forgive me. I have a lot of manufacturing experience but the bulk of it in software master cam and meta cuts mostly and cnc Mills and plasma cutter table. I never got the opportunity to learn manual machining. I was able to pick up a 12" Craftsman lathe with 18" from center to center on the bed to learn how to use it. It's in pretty good shape all around except for the Chuck. That thing is pretty much garbage unless I can get some one to grind it for me lol, using some aluminum shims I was able to dial in a rod to .002" . I've been looking into getting a 4 jaw 6" Chuck. Anyways on to my account questions.

So I chucked up a piece of stainless steel I had lying around and I wasn't getting consistent cuts. I dialed it in .015" and then measured it and it says it only took off .009". I put my dial indicator on the tool post holder and then went in .015" again and this time when the cutting tool contacted the material, I noticed the needle on the indicator moved back .005". Was that just too much for the cutter to handle (cemented cutter, I think from harbor freight, came with the lathe)? To much of a cut? Could a part of the carriage be actually bending or something? I'm thinking it was excessive backlash. Thought I would ask you guys.

Now I just know there's going to be a few people on here that are going to drop some mean and insulting comments because they just have nothing better to do with their time. So please remember, I am learning here, I came for knowledge that's all.

Last edited: