What's new
What's new

Is 25 thou backlash enough to cause parting problems? (15" Colchester)

JasonPAtkins

Hot Rolled
I have trouble breaking parting blades on my 15" Mk 1.5 Colchester lathe. The lathe is fairly stout - I know a floppy machine can cause problems in parting. It seems like there's enough iron here to be able to part correctly, though. I'm still pretty new to lathe work, and this machine is the main one I've learned on, so I don't have a lot of other points of reference.

I have trouble with parting of all types, but seem to do a little better with HSS than carbide inserts. I break a carbide insert about one in every two parting operations. I'm often parting 3" diameter solid rounds near the chuck, so workpiece rigidity isn't the problem. I think I'm using a roughly correct SFM, though it's been a little while so I don't have sample numbers.

Generally, I start the cut and have some chatter. At some point in the cut, it starts squealing (I've tried both flood coolant and oil dabbed on with a paintbrush). I'm not sure if the squealing is because of work hardening, or because the chatter has dulled the point on the blade, but then if I try to push through it, sometimes it works and sometimes (often) it snaps the insert/blade.

My lathe work isn't my main job, so I don't know if I am doing it wrong, just don't have the feel for it, or if this backlash in the cross slide is enough that even if I knew what I was doing, I'd still be having trouble.

Thanks in advance!

Without knowing what you are parting it's hard to say...but I've found parting is especially sensitive to tool height.

Parting sucks! I've been parting for nearly 40 years and I still have trouble with some stuff. A lot depends on the material. For one offs I never use flood coolant - I always dap with a paint brush - mainly because I hate the mess.