What's new
What's new

.50 thru hole with compound angle on manuall mill help??

fettersp

Aluminum
i'm having issues on how to setup for the thru hole on this part. the part looked easy at first until i got to the last part of the job. I have my mill kicked to 30 degrees and have a sine bar kicked to 38 degrees, part had to be flipped over to sit on the vice correctly and the hole has to start at the break thru point because the other way will make me drill through my sine bar. I have no clue to to edge find or indicate to get the right spot for the thru hole. any advice would be of great help. the tolerances are +- .0005.

20200504_112634.jpg

It's sort of difficult to understand what is going on there. I try my best to avoid tipping the mill head because you lose your capacity to edge find.

I think you need to drill a compound angle. I would set the head straight, tram it, set the vice at one angle and make a sacrificial angle block to get the other one. You will need to figure out the position of the hole from something you can edge find.

Hi fettersp:
At the risk of sounding like a complete dickhead, I have no idea what that scribble you've put up as a drawing is supposed to represent.
Do you have any other information you can give us?
How about photos of the setup you are planning on the actual mill?

Moving on to the ambition to position a hole on a manual mill on a compound angle to within a thou (+/- 0.0005"); how do you propose to interrogate it to see if it's where you hope it to be?
What are your datums from which you intend to measure?
How confident are you that your mill is "kicked over" to exactly the correct angle.
Will you locate off a tooling ball, or a scribed line or a touch with a cylindrical pin or ???
Do you have room to put in the hole close to it's desired location and then adjust the outsides of the part to bring it into position?