What's new
What's new

70's bridgeport with an M head, opinions?

frezaRO

Plastic
Hello everyone, always wanted to join this board and now I have a legitimate reason. I just purchased a 1973 Bridgeport with an M head. I am a metal fabricator and welder and I have been hoping to learn how to use a mill and lathe to expand my metalworking capabilities. The chance came to purchase a bridgeport so I jumped on it immediately. I had no chance to do my research beforehand, unfortunately, so as I am reading about my machine now I am learning this might not have been the best purchase! I have very little knowledge about these machines and I have used a knee mill only a handful of times (a Cheng Ki 1-1/2hp). What do you guys think about this machine? Is it possible to buy a J head and mount it on this machine if I want something heavier duty with auto-feed?

$2,000 for the machine in good condition.
Serial on the Knee "12 BR 157759"
Serial on the Head "M26493"
Motor 1/2 HP

Thank you for your time.
(not sure if this is the best way to attach pics)

Attachments

• IMG_8818.jpg
    IMG_8818.jpg
    89.8 KB · Views: 274
  • IMG_8350.jpg
    IMG_8350.jpg
    95 KB · Views: 164
  • IMG_8349.jpg
    IMG_8349.jpg
    96.1 KB · Views: 180
  • IMG_8345.jpg
    IMG_8345.jpg
    93.9 KB · Views: 165
  • IMG_8346.jpg
    IMG_8346.jpg
    90.4 KB · Views: 150
Pics look good, you did better than most and got them to show up;)
You realize the power feed in the head is NOT for drilling right? It is for boring holes to a specific size that are already drilled. It is not for powerfeeding drill bits like a drill press can.
Where are you in Calif?

You realize the power feed in the head is NOT for drilling right? It is for boring holes to a specific size that are already drilled. It is not for powerfeeding drill bits like a drill press can.
Where are you in Calif?

See this is the info I knew this forum would have. "What is the M-head ideally made for" should have been my main question.