What's new
What's new

Advance Rotary Table

Jason H

Stainless
A few of us need some help on the attached Advance Rotary Table. Has anyone had one of these apart? Does anyone have a manual for this?

Thank you in advance,

Jason

would like to see al of the potential uses myself....have had one for 10 years plus....I do not know it's full potential or anyone that does....that would be the determining point on whether I kept it any longer .... with the advent of more affordable CNC...it seems more like a museum piece. A HEAVY ONE TOO.

Mick

you can build with a cross slide rotary table is virtually limitless. As an apprentice, I spent many hrs. on a Bridgeport with a cross slide. However, with modern CNC & CAM, they have gone the way of the deckelsoures (panagraph).

Have either of you taken out some of the backlash? Mine is tight, but another member is having an issue. Anyone have a manual?

Thanks

jason

Have either of you taken out some of the backlash? Mine is tight, but another member is having an issue. Anyone have a manual?
Thanks
jason

I have seen a manual for Troyke brand rotary tables. I think they might be available online from the Troyke website. The Advance brand tables appear to be very similar to Troyke.

To adjust the backlash: Look at the knurled ring where the square protrusion sticks out on the left side of your posted photo. You can see that there is a set screw that keeps the ring fixed on the shaft of the leadscrew. As I recall: If you loosen the set screw, you now can rotate the knurled ring to tighten or loosen, because the knurled ring is threaded inside. At least, that is how it works on a Troyke.

Short of rebuilding the drive gears & such, I am not sure you can remove the dial backlash. If you are just trying to remove slop in the table then you should find a gib adjustment between the rotary & the casting. Short of this, you could drag the brake to keep out the slop.