What's new
What's new

Advice on machining a backplate

vicfi

Plastic
I'm pretty new to lathes and I need to get a new chuck for my south bend 9a. I'm looking at Bison's offerings for a 6" 3 jaw chuck. I have no issue turning it down to the right size. I'm just wondering what's the best way to mark the holes to drill for the screws. Thanks.

I cut a punch on my lathe to fit snug in the holes in my 4 jaw a put some witness marks, then drilled and taped them on the mill.

You got a mill or drill press?

Before you buy a new chuck, check your other thread for some more posts that may help.

Transfer punch is the answer. Make sure your holes are big enough to allow a little movement. It is not the bolts that assure alignment but the recess in the chuck itself. The bolts should just hold it all together with a little play before you tighten everything down.

It's your funeral but ;-

A 6'' 3 jaw is over size for a 9'' SB, ......6'' 4J lightweight yes, 3 J no, 5'' is more than large enough

I have a SB-9 and was given the same advise about a six inch chuck. I bought it with two six inch chucks, three jaw and four jaw. I had no problems with those original six inch chucks and I did some math that showed me that there were no limitations due to the size of a six inch. I could fit any sized (diameter) work that a five jaw would hold and some that it would not.

Another argument that I heard against the six inch was the weight of the chuck. A SB-9 has a journal bearing which has 100 times more support area than a ball/roller bearing would have. The chuck weight may be a factor on a lathe with ball or roller bearings, but for a journal bearing it is a piece of cake.

I purchased a new, six inch, three jaw with reversible jaw tops. It has worked just fine. I love it.

As for machining the back plate I did this:

1. Mounted the blank in my four jaw and centered.
2. Took a shallow cut to make it round and a facing cut.