Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Country
    UNITED KINGDOM
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by moonlight machine View Post
    They make their shafts of 300M.
    The trouble with 300M is that it doesn't get that hard. It's just 4340, anyhow. So you're looking at 42-ish. If you've got any sort of abrasive wear going on, something that will case harden will work better. I have had some unfortunate experiences with splines that should have been fine in that range but were not

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by EmanuelGoldstein View Post
    The trouble with 300M is that it doesn't get that hard. It's just 4340, anyhow. So you're looking at 42-ish. If you've got any sort of abrasive wear going on, something that will case harden will work better. I have had some unfortunate experiences with splines that should have been fine in that range but were not
    Ran Metalore input shafts for 20 years on AP triple disc clutches, 3 hubs on the input shaft spline with no real wear issues at all

Country
    UNITED KINGDOM
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by moonlight machine View Post
    Ran Metalore input shafts for 20 years on AP triple disc clutches, 3 hubs on the input shaft spline with no real wear issues at all
    There are other applications in the world besides Indy Cars. Yes, agreed, axles I made for the UOP Shadow Can-Am cars and a BT-44 (among others) were 300M. But it isn't ideal for everything. The drive shafts for the Coast Guard that went in the pumps they drop onto sinking ships were originally 4340 - and they broke. The new ones I made did not, and they were not 300M.

What you are doing with it makes a difference.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Georgia
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)