What's new
What's new

Advice milling stone

Tichy

Aluminum
A bit interested in milling some stone as afterwork hobby.

What about inserts? I have face mills / end mills available from Kennametal, Seco, Iscar, Sandvik, Alesa...

Can you use solid carbide or HSS at all? Is it all diamond where it's at?

Total newbie at this directions needed.

What kind of stone?

I assume carbide would cut most stones to some degree but any inclusions would spell quick death for carbide tooling.

Maybe look at some cheap diamond points from China or Amazon and see if you have any sort of success. I would not expect to get much done side milling or profiling.

I do lapidary work which is shaping various gemstones into decorative jewelry stones. Clear precious material, up to and including diamond, is faceted using diamond loaded laps. Semi-precious stones, such as agate, are ground into smooth shaped stones, generally using diamond loaded grinding wheels. Silicon carbide grinding wheels are sometime used. I would recommend milling stone by grinding, using diamond charged grinding tools. Things like grave stone markers and sculptures have been chiseled. Gutson Bolgrum used air powered impact tools and grinders in carving the stone at Mount Rushmore.

What kind of stone?

I assume carbide would cut most stones to some degree but any inclusions would spell quick death for carbide tooling.

Maybe look at some cheap diamond points from China or Amazon and see if you have any sort of success. I would not expect to get much done side milling or profiling.

Around 1953, I picked up some slate and white marble scraps from a new church building. Both stones machined OK with carbon steel tools and common Alox abrasive paper. Granite and quartz are a different game altogether.

There are some modern plastics for kitchen countertops that look like granite but machine like wood.

Larry