What's new
What's new

Advice/procedure for replacing/adjusting belt on harbor Freight Mini Lathe 93212

Status
Not open for further replies.

psnorton

Plastic
Hi All,
I tried to search for an answer but suspect this may be below the level of knowledge usually displayed here.
I'm new to this so please be gentle...

I picked up a mini lathe (used) and have been playing with getting it setup and testing it out.

I noticed it was slipping occasionally and I found the belt was just loose.
I also found the teeth on the belt and pulleys wearing, maybe it's just age but I want to replace them.

I broke it down to get to the belt and tighten it up... but the adjustment system is not logical although it seems like it is at first glance.

I started by loosening the adjustment screws and trying to move the motor down to add some tension per the instructions.
This got the tension right, but then as I tighten the screws the motor seems to twist and noses up/down causing belt misalignment.

At one point I thought i had it dead on, but then when I went to tighten the 2 strews that just push against the motor (this makes sense if you have one), everything got jacked up.

Is there a correct way to do this and stop the motor from twisting?

Or am I over thinking the belt alignment and I just need to get the tension right and the cover will keep the belt in place?

...I do have replacement belts and pulleys but want to make sure I have the procedure right before I put them on as I do not want to destroy the new parts!

thanks

Hi All,
I tried to search for an answer but suspect this may be below the level of knowledge usually displayed here.

I picked up a mini lathe (used) and have been playing with getting it setup and testing it out.

I also found the teeth on the belt and pulleys wearing, maybe it's just age but I want to replace them.

I broke it down to get to the belt and tighten it up... but the adjustment system is not logical although it seems like it is at first glance.