What's new
What's new

Advice on quoting and working with n35 tungston carbide?

fettersp

Aluminum
I got a quote for a 3x2x .5 inch pieece of carbide that has a .50 hole in the middle with an 82 degree c sink with a .03 chamber on all sides. Iv never worked with carbide before but I imagine it would have to be ether ground or edm? My surface grinder only has aluminum oxide and cbn wheels.
The tolerance for every thin id 2 grand except the hole that's 10 grand.
I do have a ram edm.

Can you get precession size stock for carbide?
How much would you price a job like this?
Is it even worth doing if I have limited knowledge of working on carbide?

n35? don't know this.
Normally you would buy the blank from Quality or others with the hole preformed in it at the green state and then grind the top and bottom and periphery to size dependent on tolerances.
At .002 all around you are going to need to be able to grind carbide. At one off this not a cheap piece of raw stock.

Is it really tungsten carbide, or one of the many tungsten "Heavy Metal" mixes like tungsten-nickel? I've cut a few varieties of heavy metal (tungsten nickel iron, tungsten copper iron) for electrodes and the like.

Heavy metals generally cut fairly well with regular carbide tooling, if what you have is truly carbide you need to get more info from your customer as to composition and manufacturer. You can EDM carbide, but it's slow. You can use CBN, but it's slow and damages the wheel.

You'd want diamond grit tooling for machining, and that can have a learning curve that gets expensive.

Tungsten Alloys: W + Ni, Fe, Cu, or Mo

Sorry that was my bad. The print says the material is tungsten carbide ND25 not n35. Im not sure if this is a grade or not? I cant find anything about it.