What's new
What's new

Advice regarding "malleable iron" - suppliers and type

I'm restoring an old Southbend 13" lathe manufactured in 1968 (large dials, red background on signage). Unfortunately, it spent it's production years in just that, "production", and has been about beat to death - most noticeably, the top of the compound. I've gotten one quote to spray weld and build it up - at a cost 4X what I paid for the machine and, for that matter, I probably paid 2X what the thing is actually worth anyway.

I've checked, unceasingly, on Fleabay and, for the 13" machines, they're just NOT widely available. I'm a mediocre arc/torch welder so I've resigned myself to lacking the welding comprehension to learn the craft of spray welding myself.

I'm gonna order a piece of raw stock and replicate the top of the compound but need advice as to what material? I'm assuming a malleable iron. I will be replicating the machined dimensions (the dovetail and the screw & bearing bores) on a Deckel FP1. Also, what is the best supplier for this stock - being a tiny order, as such?

All assistance would be GREATLY appreciated!

Get some dura bar cast iron. Or just gray cast iron. MSC sells it,as do many other suppliers. The lathe compound was not made of malleable iron. It was made of gray cast iron. Clamps,the large C clamps ,are made of malleable iron since it can bend instead of just breaking. No reason for the compound to be made of that.

As little as a compound moves,you really could get by just making it from mild steel. Use hot rolled if you do. Cold rolled warps as you machine it. Gray cast iron is used because of the graphite content,which is a built in lubricant. But,you never move the compound much compared to the cross slide,carriage,tailstock,etc..