What's new
What's new

Alignment, and eccentric bushing, gearbox rebuild

EAMassey

Plastic
A first post with a really hard question, at least so it seems to me.
Trying to rebuild a cast gearbox. A failed bearing wallowed out the bearing bore-- to egg-shaped. Not having specs. on gear center-to-center, I indicated on the hole assuming very little damage on the "good" side. I bored the housing -through, both sides, for insets. On assembly with new gears a and shafts, one of the bearing pockets has error, of position (center), of about .016"--which resulted in the gears being too tight.
I am thinking about trying to build a bushing with .016" eccentricity (that is, center of the ID offset .016" to the center of the OD) to rotate about to get a good bearing fit. I consider a good bearing fit as minimal backlash but turn by hand with no tight spots felt. The box is a right angle and speedup with three spur gears after the right angle.
Anybody done this?
I am a novice machinist, but lots of years in design and manufacturing.

I would personally place a solid plug with a good interference fit then bore it out like you did before but this time in the right place.

I would personally place a solid plug with a good interference fit then bore it out like you did before but this time in the right place.

Thanks for your reply. The bore was really difficult with extreme hard and softer spots. Further, the bearing seat requires an internal O-ring groove-- and, my experience and accuracy is much better on the lathe than the mill. I did a search on this site for "eccentric bushings" and found a thread on the use of such in a Sunnen honing machine, apparently as an extended center adjustment
method. Yes!!! Always better to do it right the first time. And after a fail, I always can think of better methods for the next time- though my old or low-end equipment and tooling has some limits.