What's new
What's new

Amateur lathe user requesting assistance

Analog

Plastic
Hello everyone!

I am an amateur garage "machinist" looking for advice. I am using an expanding lathe to turn these polymer washers. I am turning about 40 washers on the expanding mandrel shown.

I am looking for a lathe tool with a wide cutting edge to trim the washers down to a consistent size. I am using a starter set of lathe tools which are very narrow, and I tend to get uneven results on the outside diameter as I work sideways across the OD. Sometimes +/- 1-2mm. I can turn the lathe tool sideways to achieve a uniform finish, but that is dangerous and the tool isn't particularly sharp on its edge.

If someone could recommend a tool for this application and a place to buy it and I'd really appreciate it. Thanks for your time :)

251342584_192022883102347_6590722962718609715_n.jpg

That appears to be a woodworking lathe of some sort. This is a metalworking group.

You may have better luck asking at rec.woodworking or the like.

That appears to be a woodworking lathe of some sort. This is a metalworking group.

You may have better luck asking at rec.woodworking or the like.

Thank you for the suggestion. I apologize for my noob-iness, I just didn't know where else to ask.

A skilled woodworker can produce a fairly accurate cylinder on a wood lathe with hand-held chisels. It takes practice and experience or really good instincts.

There are some special devices made to take some of the skill out of the work. These duplicator attachments are usually made to hold an irregular shaped template that the cutting tool is forced to follow. They are good for making matched sets of table and chair legs, for instance. The template can simply be a straight edge and, once set in the right position, it will produce a straight cylinder.

Lathe Duplicator attachments at Penn State Industries