What's new
What's new

Any tips for the new guys?

jojo1993

Plastic
Hey everybody im new to machining and im currently in trade school and having issues hitting tolerences while manually machining. For our projects at school its + - .001 for tolerences and i for the life of me cant seem to hit them. It's really discouraging, i mean i love machining it seemed to be my calling but after 6 months i still seem to be bad at it.

Any of you veterans out there got any advice on how to stay motivated and not get discouraged on learning how to machine.

Well that depends all on what you are doing and what they are expecting you to do it with. Are you having trouble with milling or turning? Are you trying to turn a part to within .002 on a 1950's Cincinnati that's been crashed with the chuck key at max RPM with the gears half engaged? Or maybe a fleet of Grizzly machines that couldn't cut a strait line if you welded the cross slide in place.

+- .001 on an manual can be tricky I will give some general advice.

Don't take the part out of the vice of chuck until you are done do the the setup/operation.

Clamp the ways that are not moving this applies to mills and larger.

When milling rough to within .020" and take it to final size in a couple cuts measuring after each cut and compensate for any springing. Remember there is backlash no matter how new the machine is.

When turning rough to within .020"-.030" and take a .010" spring pass and measure, measure, measure. If you have a couple thou to go then file and or emery it down.

If the option exist learn how to program.

A few things to remember:

-Everything is subject to flexing and moving. Even carbide.
-Accuracy is relative. There is no perfect part.
-You will never know everything about machining. None of us will, except John Weldon. :D
-There is such a thing as an impossible part, no matter what the engineer says.

:cheers: