What's new
What's new

Any V belt experts on line?

I have had 3 belts break on on my mower. It is the belt between the electric clutch on the engine and the mower deck. The first one from Rural King, a local farm store lasted about 10 hours, the next one also from Rural King, Jason Industrial brand, Finest china quality lasted about 4 hours. Next I tried a Gates brand from Motion Industries, good for about 4 hours. This belt normally lasts for years, WTF? It is a 5/8" wide x 161" long so at about 50.00 each it is not a cheap date. The belt looks in perfect condition except where it is snapped in two, no damage to the belt from the pullies. The belt bends back about 90 degrees from straight around 2 idler pullies. Is there special belts for this?

How long did the original belt last? I had similar luck on a deere, went back to deere's belt and it hasn't broke yet. A 161" B belt for $50 seems stupid cheap. I think my 60? inch deere was $65 or so.

I am no belt expert. It must have some type tension pulley and maybe an idler pulley or two. Make sure all are in good condition and function properly. If the tension pulley swing arm locks up momentarily it can snap a belt as well as any other free wheeling pulley.

That is 100% weird, I have never broken a mower belt and I have been using riding mowers for decades. V-belts are supposed to ride on the sides and not bottom out. Could it be possible the OEM belt was a little wider or of better quality? You would think a bad pulley or tensioner would cause slipping or the belt to jump off and not snap them.

Belts with tight curves usually have back notches to allow a tighter bend radius, that’s all I got!
Mark

Fell in to the same trap years ago - used ''ordinary'' belts (gates etc etc) and they fell apart after a few hours and I had myself a warranty job (big loser :eek: ) I got genuine OEMs (which I was told were special) and they lasted eons.

Make sure it is the belt causing the problem.