What's new
What's new

Applications engineer

rbest34

Plastic
Trying to get a feel on this as a job option. Talking with a major machine tool manufacturer tomorrow about a position with the company. I've been machining for 30 years and programming for 20. Just wondering if any of you have done this and what you liked and didn't like.

I've worked as an application engineer, in electronics, though.
To be successful, you need to be a salesman too.

I'd describe the job as "sales engineer at a high technical level". It's fun if you like customer contact. If you are technically and commercially competent, you'll earn the trust of you customers.

Benta.

I was an applications engineer for 4 years. You ARE the technical side of sales, but in my role, I was more likely to protect our customers from buying equipment that ill-suited to their application (our salespeople often just took interest in partial application requirements, and often times had to be reminded about the totality of the systems we were dealing with). I also did a lot of on-site installs and trouble shooting, as well as doing case studies out of our home office.

It was rewarding, and I became well liked by our customers, but the bottom line was that I was doing very little actual engineering - which is why I left. I've been in product development engineering ever since.