What's new
What's new

Avoiding Flash in Closed Die Operation

asifshiraz

Plastic
Hi,

I have a newbie question, since I have very little background in this.

I came across a paper discussing a schematic for coining die. The author mentioned that in order to reduce flash, the size of the enclosure in the closed die operation should be the same as the desired finished coin. If the coin material is more, then it will try to escape through the edges and cause flash formation.

In a stamping operation, I believe the press will inadvertently keep pushing down, unless there is something to stop it from pushing past the point where desired formation has already happened. In such a case, I suspect that the author is proposing that the die cavity cannot be compressed past that point, so there is something in the design which ensures that. But it is not described, and I cannot pinpoint what that is.

So I my naive understanding is that it would work in the manner in which I have marked the diagram below. The upper die will protrude just enough that its protrusion + finished coin height both exactly equal the cavity in the lower die. Past that point, if the press keeps on pushing, the two edges of the die set will come in contact with each other not let further press be put on the medallion. Is my reading correct in this matter? Or is this not the way it is done? I noticed that the author has shown considerably bigger protrusion, so not sure if that is just to illustrate, or the upper die actually comes down way more, and there is some totally different mechanism to limit continued pressure on the medallion?

Thanks in advance.

question.jpg

PS. The attachment turned out to be too small to be read, so here is another link: (Google drive needs url to be refreshed twice to load the picture)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzE4ZyIj-ZpCU1VNbnRDVmo3ak0/edit?usp=sharing