What's new
What's new

Basic Gcode why does G18 G02 seem backwards and why G91 with G28

sendithard

Plastic
I'm new to CAM, but plenty of CAD experience. I'm looking at some gcode from a simple part. The G18 G02 is going counterclockwise when viewed from a typical front view in CAD. The typical front view of a part is you staring at the part from a -y distance. Why is the G02 created as if you are staring at the part from behind or in some +y distance?

Also, I saw in an autodesk paper that the below code is an ending code:
G91 G28 Z0.
G90

I don't understand why you put the machine in incremental mode(G91) to tell it to go to its machine home(G28). And why put the Z0 in there? From my ignorant understanding I would just put a simple G28 in there. Why the need for the other stuff?

Thanks for your time.

Look at your planes as though you are looking out of the spindle, not looking in through the door.

Never got the G28 G91 Z0 thing, either. Insanity left over from the fanuc days I suppose.

G28 G91 Z0

There are two moves commanded in that one line.
G28 goes home through a point, Z0. It doesn't command the tool to move to a machine Z0
If you were in absolute, the tool would move to it's Z0 (and maybe crash) and then travel to its home position. being in incremental, means Z will travel to a point 0 from its current point (and not move), then move to its home position.
A line like G28 G91 Z1.0 would move the Z plus one inch, then go home.
A line like G28 G90 X0 Y5.0 would move the table to X0 Y5.0 in the current work coordinate system, then move to home. Good clearance move if there was going to be something in the way.

As he ^ explained is how I understand it. Just a G28 could have potential for a crash depending on how/where your offsets are at. If you want you can skip that and use G53 (machine zero, no offset involved) Z0. (not sure if G53 is universal, so testing at low rapid would be advisable)