Best and most cost effective way of securing a small V pulley to a splined shaft
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Question Best and most cost effective way of securing a small V pulley to a splined shaft

Hello; first off, I'm new here so I apologize if I'm not supposed to ask a question first. I'm new to the machining world.

I'm wanting to get your thoughts/opinions on how I could go about either making an adapter, or just making a custom pulley from scratch to secure a small OD 4L size V belt pulley to a 9 tooth odd-ball spline starter motor shaft that is 11.75mm in diameter.

The pulley must be able to be secured to the shaft in a way that prevents the pulley from just sliding off the shaft, as the motor will be mounted so the shaft end points towards the ground. Also, I would prefer it if the motor shaft doesn't need to be modified in any way, as that is a stock part that I don't want to modify.

I've found no readily available adapters or parts to do what I want, but maybe some of you know of off the shelf items, which is always a plus! The pulley OD I'm wanting to use is very small, about 1.55" approximately, as this will be turning a larger pulley via belt later on for more torque.

I appreciate any help offered! Thank you

Some pics below of the motor:

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

grub screw

Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by jdaisy View Post
    grub screw
    You really think a little grub screw can withstand the torque? Not much of a surface area either for the grub screw to grab a hold of; it's splined

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Idaho
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Damn,nice photo presentation.Welcome to PM.

5. Likes TeachMePlease liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Indiana
    Post Thanks / Like