What's new
What's new

Best way to thin .5" x.125 Cold rolled

Pattnmaker

Stainless
I need to make some steel inserts (18) to go in a fixture we are building. They need to be .5" x .085" thick x .88" long. I have about a tolerance of about +-.005 on the thickness but they need to all be the same size +-.001 on the width and thickness as they need to be a tight slip or press fit in pockets I will be cutting in the Renshape fixture. Length is about +- .06".

I plan on picking up some 1/2x1/8 cold rolled and making it from this. I only have a knee mill to thin them out to .085" I am not convinced this is the best way to thin them and am thinking of trying to get them surface ground to the right thickness. The problem is I need to get this job done before the end of the year preferably this week. I have no surface grinding experience. How long would it typically take to grind approximately 20" of this stock to .085". If it is pretty quick I will take Cash and hopefully be able to get a favour from one of the shops I sometimes work with.

If I cannot get it ground or if this is prohibitively expensive. What would be the best way to keep the stock that thin flat in the vise while milling? I was thinking a 5/8 4 flute end mill one pass .040" off each side? Pieces about 6" long.

When I quoted this I had assumed I could use a standard piece of CRS or even a piece of standard size of ground stock. I should be able to get a little more for these ground or machined pieces as my quote was budgetary based on pictures before drawings were made. But it is a new customer and don't want to go much more than the budgetary quote.

If 0.88" long is not a typo, I'd do them in longer strips, then cut to length after thinning. (Ah, I see you said 6". Good.) I think I'd do them in width, thickness, length order.