Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    California
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Default Bewildering Choice of Carbide Tip Lathe Tools

I’m relatively new to using replaceable carbide tip tooling on a lathe. A tool catalogue I have has 14 pages of tool holders and 34 pages of carbide inserts. The inserts are round, square, triangular, diamond shaped. Needless to say the choices are overwhelming to a hobbyist trying break into this tooling. Can anyone provide some general guidance on applications or direct me to a source that helps sort the field out.

Thank you.

Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Florida
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

CNMG432….DNMG432…VNMG432. GOOD BASIC INSERTS for most all applications. Buy a couple of grades which allow the greatest range of materials used. You can order inserts specific to the types of metals you work. Buy boxes never get too few.
    You must have inserts to cut and will always need them they break and wear out.

This is a adequate starting point for general lathe work. They are OD turning inserts. There are many inserts with different chip breakers and various grades of carbide. These basic destinations will have types which vary depending on the material to be turned.

ID tooling can be the same yet using boring bars. You want the chips to break rather than string up. Be careful if you do not know how to run a lathe as they will injure and kill. Wear safety glasses of good quality do not risk your eyes. Do not use long sleeves as they catch and will pull you into the machine.

Long hair tie it back out of the way or cut it all off.

3. Likes boosted liked this post
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Virginia
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

This could be the guide you seek: