What's new
What's new

Boring Bar Push Off?

Mot3s

Plastic
I am pretty new to machining, and I attempted to bore a hole the other day. I needed it to be 0.702" in diameter, and I used a 5/8 drill before boring. The drill hole was pretty true after measurement. The depth of bore and length of boring tool was about 1.5 inches off the tool post.

I noticed after awhile that it pretty much stopped cutting further into the hole, and basically tapered inside. I think the boring bar itself left a lot to be desired. Seemed to bend fairly easily just when touching off on the inside wall. Is this normal? Basically when I was done with it, only the first 0.200" of depth measured correctly, and the rest of the hole was around 0.68 or less. I kept trying to make cuts and it simply walked right up that taper. Tried increasing and decreasing speed, and same thing.

The tool looked cheap to me. Could it be it's not sharp enough? I ordered a new boring bar. After this happened I read about it and saw that "push-off" is an issue with boring? Is this common? Does this mean that I should take spring cuts after every single pass to avoid this in the future? I spent 5 hours on this part, only to screw up the most critical cut in the bore. I can't afford to do this many more times.

All the help I can get would be great. Thank you

What were you trying to bore in?......the same thing would happen to me if I was boring a piston pin that was file hard......and Ive seen many newbies try to do just that.......the other factor is have you eliminated the free play in the lathe.....to bore a hole,you must wind back a little towards you ,and not then advance the tool ,for as soon as the load is applied,the slides simply move over to eliminate as much of the backlash as the force will do.

What kind of boring tool are you using? Is it "as purchased" or did you touch up the edges before using it?