What's new
What's new

Boring with a mag base drill

dufftrucks

Plastic
I was a machinist for seven years war and horizontal bar now and vertical boring Mill and lathe I have a crazy question I need to bore some holes in the back hoe all that I have is a big Milwaukee mag base drill mt3 variable speed weighs 70 pounds swivel base. Here's what I want to do with that I need to borrow out some Outriggers on my backhoe for some new bushings I'm going to buy a Criterion head but the only problem is I don't have power feed you think I'm crazy to try to do it or hand no power feed if I go so slow .thank you for any input

If you are not looking for extreme accuracy, it probably will work. Don't know how good the spindle / quill is on your mag drill or how you will hold the boring head? As far as feeding it slow, I wouldn't be afraid to try it.

Hi dufftrucks:
Everything is going to depend on how well you can keep the boring forces from popping the mag base off the job.
I'd find a way to line bore them even if you have to tack weld some temporary bushings onto the machine wherever you can.
Also I'd avoid single point boring with the mag drill; even two cutting edges in the cut simultaneously will balance the forces much better and three will be better still.

Jerry up something to take the loads and then just use the Milwaukee for power to drive the bar.
If you look at portable line boring equipment like what Climax and others offer for inspiration, you should be able to come up with something that works without too much pain.

If you can't do that, I'd look to see if there's a Hougen rotabroach in the diameter you need.
They're designed to run in mag drills.
I believe you can buy them in 1/16" diameter increments and they go up to around 2" diameter.
You might have to weld a temporary pilot pin plate into the existing hole to get it started, but you'll have a much better chance to do a decent job without risk.
Cheers

Marcus
Implant Mechanix • Design & Innovation > HOME