What's new
What's new

Boring small diameters in lathe soft jaws.

ThisIsShopLife

Plastic
I have a job coming up where I will need to bore a .375 diameter into my chuck jaws. It is not a production job so investing in a collet chuck is out of the question. Curious if anybody has recommendations on best practices and tooling for this as I have zero experience boring jaws to less than 1.250. Some of my thots have been just drilling them using .375 carbide drill, live milling with small endmill, or miniature boring bars etc.

Lathe has live tooling and Y-axis.

Part tolerances are +/-.005 on OD.

Thanks !

What I do is use jaws that come to a point, install them so you have room for a 1/4 bar in the I.D. chucking position. On my Mazak I also do a TPC change so the bar moves away .005 before it moves out. With very small passes I cut to my diameter. I also cut a taper larger to the chuck so I know my material is held at the jaw top, this taper depends on jaw depth. Then I close my jaws adjust my diameters and cut again. Then I move my jaws in one V groove and chuck up my material. Love Louisville if you are near there!

Thru or to a shoulder?

Thru - Chuck on a washer or thin pc. of stock stuck way deep in the jaws. Bore big enough to just nick the tips of the jaws.
(It doesn't matter what the actual diameter is, the small bored surface of the jaws will run true and your stock won't know the difference.)
Remove washer and clear out where the washer was sitting to a bigger dia.

To a shoulder - chuck on a smaller-than-.375 drill shank or gage pin., grind up a b-bar out of a small trashed endmill and have at it.

Cut relieve to the back side of the jaws and bore as usual with small boring bar to 3xD...5xD depth?
I'd choose PH Horn miniature solid carbide boring bar for the job but that just based on what I have in the drawers..

grind up a b-bar out of a small trashed endmill and have at it.