What's new
What's new

Bridgeport Mill Helper Step Identification

TomGun

Plastic
Hello Everyone,

I am a retired automotive teacher with very limited machining experience, so I know I'm out of my depth on this forum. Please forgive me.

I have a very good amateur machinist friend that is looking for what I think is an accessory "helper step" for an old Bridgeport mill, although I guess it could be used on any "tall" machine. I have searched the internet for hours and cannot find even so much as a reference to this thing.

I have attached pictures from the only one either of us have ever seen and it's mounted to the base of a mill at a shop he works at, but no one there has any idea where it came from, as it has been there "for ever."

Has anyone seen one of these and maybe know who makes it, what it's officially called, or where I can find one? The part number on it says "SLBP001" Maybe means "Step ?? Bridge Port 001" ???

Left Side.jpgBottom.jpgMounting.jpgRight Side.jpgSwivel.jpg

Many Thanks for allowing me to post here.

Tommy G.

Don't know who makes them, but I want one. Have thought about making it but would like to buy one.

JH

Ditto on that^^^^^^^^^^^

As a vertically challenged person, I'm constantly annoyed by have to reach/climb/step to do my job.

This thing would be perfect.

I feel like OSHA would have some sort of problem with this.

But at 5'3" and barely able to turn the drawbar with my thumb... I want one anyway.

Smack you ankle into it qty (1) time and it will get removed. That is a trip hazard for sure.

It needs the arm to be on both sides.

why not just sawcut the concrete floor and spend 1 hour with a shovel ?