What's new
What's new

Bridgeport Procedures

Ryan_Flowers

Plastic
Hello,

I'm relatively new to machining but have been employed in manufacturing for over 10 years doing mostly electrical. I am putting together training materials for my employees to divide them into different categories/levels. One section is to include some skills tests on the Bridgeport mill and separately the lathe.

I have training for identifying the components of the mill and what they are used for. Then I have a written guide for speeds and feeds based on size and materials. Lastly, I also have guides on how to tram the head and square the vise on the mill. My question is, are there some or any written procedures for cutting keyways on a round shaft with a vertical Bridgeport mill? Also, are there any for general slot cutting as well? My google searches haven't come up with anything I can make tangible. (maybe it's just my search criteria).

Any finger pointing the right direction with those two items would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hello,

I'm relatively new to machining but have been employed in manufacturing for over 10 years doing mostly electrical. I am putting together training materials for my employees to divide them into different categories/levels. One section is to include some skills tests on the Bridgeport mill and separately the lathe.

I have training for identifying the components of the mill and what they are used for. Then I have a written guide for speeds and feeds based on size and materials. Lastly, I also have guides on how to tram the head and square the vise on the mill. My question is, are there some or any written procedures for cutting keyways on a round shaft with a vertical Bridgeport mill? Also, are there any for general slot cutting as well? My google searches haven't come up with anything I can make tangible. (maybe it's just my search criteria).

Any finger pointing the right direction with those two items would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks