What's new
What's new

Broaching force

jimmy s

Plastic
Hi all,I have a small batch of internal splines to broach and will make up some guiding equipment to maintain accuracy (the pieces operate up to 12000rpm) the splines are 25mm module 1 24T with 30 PA, the material is a case hardening steel EN 39B.How many tons would i need to pull a spline broach through the job? The spline is around 40mm long.I'm looking at a 20T hollow hydraulic ram thinking surely it will be powerful enough but I'd like to here from someone who knows for sure. Thanks

I'm not an engineer, but I do pull similar parts. Seat of the pants estimate from me is that you need about 5 tons to pull that part.

Surely a 20 ton press will be enough. That said when dealing with specialty metals or very odd broaching procedures I contact
Dumont 413-773-3674. We have tons of Dumont tooling, I believe there the best. Very helpful people.

Thanks for the replies guys . I haven't got a broach yet but if it fully forms the spline over say 300mm and taking the shear strength as 60% of tensile then with 40mm of the broach "working" the theoretical value would be less than a ton...this would surprise me if it was the case hence i would be keen to hear from guys who have done similar work and have a fair idea of the force needed.I'll contact the suggested company just to be sure i'm not going to over or under engineer the pulling jig.

Thanks for the replies guys . I haven't got a broach yet but if it fully forms the spline over say 300mm and taking the shear strength as 60% of tensile then with 40mm of the broach "working" the theoretical value would be less than a ton...
Doesn't seem too surprising to me ... I think your 60% figure is low, should be more like 80% unless this is aluminum but 1 mod is very small teeth, you can do those teeth individually by hand in a Bridgeport (don't tell the boss}. Put 24 of them together and it's still no big deal.