What's new
What's new

Broken craftsman 1 horse power bench grinder

Status
Not open for further replies.

RustyHammer

Plastic
Hello, this is my first time on this forum so I hope I posted this to the right thread, anyway I was using my grinder like I do everyday when the item I was grinding snagged and shot through the back of my grinder. I hit the kill switch and the grinder stopped as usual, but when I went to turn it back on the grinder hummed but would not spin under its own power. It does spin when turned by hand I figure it might have had a capacitor failure so I disassembled it and found the capacitor which is a Mallory 210-260 MFD 110VAC capacitor. I can't find one like it on eBay or McMaster-carr. Could someone, please tell me where I can get one? Here are some pictures of it.

Attachments

• SUNP0117.jpg
    SUNP0117.jpg
    90.7 KB · Views: 493
  • SUNP0116.jpg
    SUNP0116.jpg
    91.8 KB · Views: 342
  • SUNP0114 (1).jpg
    SUNP0114 (1).jpg
    92.7 KB · Views: 328
  • SUNP0110.jpg
    SUNP0110.jpg
    83.9 KB · Views: 912
  • SUNP0109.jpg
    SUNP0109.jpg
    94.9 KB · Views: 506
I also have a Craftsman grinder. Didn't know much or have much cash when I bought it many years ago. Still works but when it dies I won't be fixing it. Now also have several Baldor grinders and buffers. If they break (unlikely) I'll spend the time and money to fix...

L7

Perhaps Sears still has parts for this grinder? Google the Sears part number that is probably on the grinder label someplace followed by the word parts and see what comes up.

Vlad

Get a Grinder that costs more than $50.00, and use that POS for a shop example of what not to do. You could paint a little picture of a POS on the side of it.

R

Could also be the centrifugal start switch hanging up.