What's new
What's new

Building new shop, thinking about welding up my own beams?

DieselPower

Cast Iron
I have finally bought 1 acre in town, and am going to be putting up a 60x140 steel building. Trying to think of every way to save money so my payoff is shorter...

Have any of you welded your own i-beams and put up your own building? Got any advice?

I am a certified welder, got several good machines, and can hire stick burners for 8/hr. I am not familiar with steel building construction, but from what I have seen the beams are fabbed from plate and flat bar stock.

What's wrong with plasma torching tapered webs from 4x10ft sheets, and welding 8" flat bar on for the flanges? Betcha two guys for a week on my welders and grinders could get the job done.

Now I haven't actually priced it out yet to see what the cost diff is, and the pre-fab guys might get such good deals I'd be going backwards doing my own, but from what I've seen of construction there's a lot of money made by the contractors...

Any thoughts?

Buy a kit. A building that size will give enough work. Concrete, plumbing, etc. Remember there is UPC now and you will need the engineered drawings. Putting it up yourself is commendable but a kit would be cheaper. Time saved is money earned.

60 x 140 on just 1 acre doesn't leave much outside room for parking, loading, or storage. How much will the city require for set-back?

I looked into this back when. Back then you could buy the engineered and fabricated framing kit for a steel building delivered to your site for less than the price of the steel from the local yard.

Check into this and also check whether your design complies with local code. It's hard to beat 'em - possible but hard.

Right up there with mixing your own concrete..

IF you are tooled for it, it can save you money... Tooling up, not so much..

A preengineered kit will save you in the short, and long run..