What's new
What's new

Burgmaster 1 D

Bingo001

Plastic
I have a Burgmaster 1-D that we use for drilling and tapping water pump housings. The Tapper is basically worn out and will not engage. Can anyone point me to where I can get parts or where I can buy one? It threads on to the machine 5/8-16 and uses a small tap. I have ordered a service manual on line.
Thanks! Don

The tapper on this machine looks nothing like the Tapmatics tools. The Tapmatics are round. The one I have is square and bolts to the machine with 2 small screws on the turret to keep it stationary. You may be right, if the working parts are the same, but as of now, I still haven't received the service manual. Unfortunately, I don't know how to post pictures here. Thanks for the input!

Oh! the reason I want to stay with this exact tapper is a clearance issue. This one sets up perfectly for our production. To put a longer tapper in it's place would not work. There wouldn't be enough space between the the tap and the pumps we are making. We would have to set up another drill press to tap the holes. If you would like to see our pumps, look up "Zip's Water Pumps" They are made for the small block Chevy and new ones are coming out for the big Block and Hemi.

Just found something else too. Burgmaster Houdaille Tapper 1 D

Last edited:
You might find a whole (needing parts) 1D somewhere for about what you are willing to pay for a tapping head.

I went to Burgmaster school in 1980. (For the large machines.) At the beginning of the first day of class the guy got up there and said "The Japs are coming. They're already here with CNC lathes and they are going to bring machining centers". 18 months later Burgmaster was closed. (The small machines were continued to be supported by someone in Cerritos.)

I'm in a similar bind and I asked over at the "Tooling for Sale" section of this Forum.