What's new
What's new

Can anyone help me identify this 4 way chuck?

J-Gilly

Plastic
Hi guys. Newbie here. Just purchased a South Bend 9a lathe with some tooling. This chuck was thrown in with the parts. Don’t know if it will work with my 9a. The hole in the rear for the spindle looks the same as the 3-way chuck that was mounted on the spindle, at 1-1/2”. However, the threads are recessed about 7/8” down in the hole. Anyone know what this is, and can I use it with my South Bend 9a? Thank you for any help.F5613C89-F7B6-4007-A3F1-6D03574BB002.jpgF44AF823-5DCD-4756-89E8-360A579E1E20.jpg8E315BE0-CFEA-4093-AF2A-050E2E74F9EA.jpg5EF05C38-B489-40F3-BDE6-B014ABE0EDF3.jpgBDBEED08-3463-481B-A100-DEF9864ACA96.jpgF5613C89-F7B6-4007-A3F1-6D03574BB002.jpgF44AF823-5DCD-4756-89E8-360A579E1E20.jpg8E315BE0-CFEA-4093-AF2A-050E2E74F9EA.jpg5EF05C38-B489-40F3-BDE6-B014ABE0EDF3.jpgBDBEED08-3463-481B-A100-DEF9864ACA96.jpg

First off you need to use the correct terminology, there is no such thing as a 3 way or 4 way chuck, it is 3 jaw chuck (usually but NOT always a scroll chuck), and 4 jaw chuck (usually independent, but can be a scroll chuck). Looks like you need to turn down some of that adapter to make it work.

Edit: unbolt that adapter from the chuck, flip over and see if it screws onto your spindle, if it does do some reading on here to find out how to fit it to your lathe. It looks like a new adapter that was just never machined to fit. I would also change out those square head bolts for allen head, but that may just be my taste.

It might work as it is but if you need to turn down some of the back plate, you need to make sure you do a good job of it. That shoulder is what indexes the chuck to the spindle and the threads just hold it on. Resist the urge to spin the chuck on. You will be sorry if you do. I think you could clean it up and make a serviceable chuck out of it. Don't think you don't need a four jaw. You need a four jaw as it is the only way to guarantee repeatability.