What's new
What's new

Can I finish a Metric Thread after Disengaging Half Nuts Without Threading Dial?

Rhee

Plastic
Guys,

I'm new to the machining hobby and have a HF mini lathe and mill.

While in the middle of cutting a internal metric thread, a bearing on the lathe froze up and I disengaged the half nuts in order to fix it. My lead screw is Imperial and there's no threading dial on the machine. Can I finish the threading operation? If so how?

Thanks,

Rhee

With the compound set at 29 1/2 degrees as usual, re-engage the desired thread and start the operation with the tool backed out from the cut. After the machine has started turning, slowly and carefully re-introduce the cutting tool into the unfinished thread, carefully adjusting whichever dial is needed, whether it be crossfeed or compound until the tool is starting the cut. You will make small adjustments as necessary. Takes longer to describe than to do it. There may be a u-tube vid showing this. When you get to the desired positon on the crossfeed, re-set the zero on dial. Good luck.

JH

With the compound set at 29 1/2 degrees as usual, re-engage the desired thread and start the operation with the tool backed out from the cut. After the machine has started turning, slowly and carefully re-introduce the cutting tool into the unfinished thread, carefully adjusting whichever dial is needed, whether it be crossfeed or compound until the tool is starting the cut. You will make small adjustments as necessary. Takes longer to describe than to do it. There may be a u-tube vid showing this. When you get to the desired positon on the crossfeed, re-set the zero on dial. Good luck.

JH