What's new
What's new

Can a lathe be fabricated from mild steel ?

Waterworks

Plastic
Been looking at some YouTube efforts at building a lathe which range from junk to not so much junk. I'm pondering if there is any way to really build a serious small lathe that would equal a shop bought one ?

Some of the basics you can't do without ?

1. a high mass of stable cast iron to dampen vibration
2. Excellent bearings
3. Hardened and ground ( scraped ) bedways.

I'm a welder and even if I fabricated a lathe from heavy sections and plates the distortion and stress in the finished product would be huge. I'd probably go find a scrap cast iron lathe bed and get it re ground , then start from a stable base.

It's all design and execution. Heck, I could build a nice lathe from maple and some steel plates. Good lathes have been made from heavy round rod stock. SBs use simple plain bearings yet achieve excellent results. In the past people have made good lathes from cast bronze. OTOH, why not just find a good used lathe?

I'd probably go find a scrap cast iron lathe bed and get it re ground.

At which point you would probably be into it for almost as much time/money as finding a good enough used lathe.

If I needed a large wood lathe I might consider building something like a Oneway, and I would like to build a spinning lathe at some point. For a metal lathe though I wouldn't bother unless the whole purpose is just the fun of the project.

One technical reason that cast iron is used for machine tool frames is that cast iron heavily damps vibration, thus controlling chatter. Making a lathe frame out of even the best of steel is likely to disappoint. There have been many attempts.

The sourcebook for this is "Precision Machine Design" by MIT Professor Alex Slocum. This is a book by Slocum plus a course taught by Slocum and others.

Available online: Precision Machine Design | Mechanical Engineering | MIT OpenCourseWare