What's new
What's new

Can lathe jaws be re-machined & if so , who does this kind of work.

THEJKSHOW

Plastic
I have a 3 jaw chuck with a master jaw set. It's a decent chuck. I have one set of jaws that are used quite often ,but were damaged (jaw faces) by the previous owner. I know this chuck & replacement jaws are obsolete. So my question is ....... Is it normal practice to remachine the jaws of a chuck ,and if so who does this type of work ?? I only have a lathe in my shop. Thanks 🙂🙂

yes and not so much. if the jaws are boogered, you can bore them if they're braced in a spider. if the scroll is sprung or
warped, then the chuck is fucked. you can feasibly bore to a specific diameter.but it will be off at other settings.

I have a 3 jaw chuck with a master jaw set. It's a decent chuck. I have one set of jaws that are used quite often ,but were damaged (jaw faces) by the previous owner. I know this chuck & replacement jaws are obsolete. So my question is ....... Is it normal practice to remachine the jaws of a chuck ,and if so who does this type of work ?? I only have a lathe in my shop. Thanks ����

"Master jaw" implies two-piece, eg with "top" jaws, hard, soft, or custom fixtured, pie. pins, claws or the like.

What do you actually have, what make, what age, what size?

Larger chucks are "usually" worth the substantial price of a rebuild as new ones are quite dear. 16" and up, for example. Non-scroll wedge, cone, or balanced lever POWER operated chucks even more so, even small ones. More expensive, too, of course.

"Top" jaws are still made for most every standard as has ever existed. Two dozen or so, per the old ladner.fr catalog and similar speciality houses in Spain who cover US, European, Japanese, etc. Some are easy to DIY, others not so much.

If NOT "two piece" and/or 10" or UNDER?

Jaws are only one of MANY parts of a chuck that wear or sustain damage.