What's new
What's new

Career move.

cunaf85

Plastic
I've been a machine operator/machinist since 2006 and am thinking about moving on career wise. I want a position at either a machine tool dealer/builder, ,a tooling supplier/manufacturer or a CAD/CAM company. I would really enjoy having a field position. Anybody that has made a similar move have any advice or cautionary tales? Which companies are the best or worst to work for?

I've been a machine operator/machinist since 2006 and am thinking about moving on career wise. I want a position at either a machine tool dealer/builder, ,a tooling supplier/manufacturer or a CAD/CAM company. I would really enjoy having a field position. Anybody that has made a similar move have any advice or cautionary tales? Which companies are the best or worst to work for?
seems like you are bored and want to do something different.
you get older and find working in the field often means working outside in the rain or snow or in unheated buildings or other uncomfortable areas. me after decades I went from field machinist (millwright) to maintenance machinist to now cnc machinist (operator) and find job a lot easier for a older person
if you get a job at a big company you might be able to apply or transfer to other areas of different types of work. but since they would need to find your replacement and to train you at your new job most places resist doing this. unless job you apply for nobody wants and your old job its relatively easy to find your replacement.
you might want to just get a hobby to do at home in your spare time. or take some night school courses if you want to learn new stuff. college courses often they have info on where to find jobs