What's new
What's new

Casting aluminium in gypsum (plaster) mold

Madis Reivik

Hot Rolled
Hello !

I'm complete newbie at this field.

Imagine a typical heatsink (drafted fins). I make a positive model (ie. from aluminium). I make plaster cast of it. I bake the cast at 100'C and then at 200'C to get out all moisture.
Plaster mold looks good.

How should I pour in the aluminium ? If I make it top-down, then air wont come out from fin bottoms (tried once, complete failure). Should I make air release holes in fin tops and add some bottom plate to the mold, so the aluminium will be cast from the bottom and rises to top of fins ?

I feel very stupid at the moment, please share experience.

Do not do it. The water retained in the plaster will flash to steam. In investment casting a special plaster is used. Before the metal is poured the plaster mold is held at high temperature long enough to force the water out of the plaster and make a successful casting

never tried to pour something like a heatsink but can't really see what the problem is if you did a slow gradual pour and didn't just dump your whole load on there and expect it to fill the mold. you may still have too much moisture gassing off and blocking the flow. your alloy may be wrong as well. i've only done plaster mold casting with multipart molds and because of all the seams always had good venting.

couple of things you may or may not know already:

plaster should be mixed something like 1:1 with good clean silica sand.

how you bake it depends on the thickness but i always did it at around 450°C for a minimum of 2 hours. yes, plaster should crumble when abused like that, that's what the sand is for.

the mold should be HOT when poured, straight from your bake is ideal.

when pouring something with fine detail or thin walls you need a good alloy designed for casting. scrap like aluminium extrusions aren't going to do the job. 356 is a good common alloy and a good source is auto cylinder heads.